Home > photographer > Hair Photography

Hair Photography

Hair is something really interesting to photograph as most of the high-end hair fashion shoots you see in international hair advert campaigns probably aren’t even the model’s own hair.
Guy from Elegance hair salon in Durbanville, Cape Town, contacted me to photograph a hairstyle look he wanted to add to his hair fashion portfolio.
Guy got my details from a seminar on hair photography I gave at Goldwell two weeks ago. You can see that result here .
I basically adopted the same photographic approach used for the photoshoot link above. Two strobes were placed at 45 degrees on various power settings, model was seated on a chair with a plain white wall three feet behind her to minimize any shadows being cast. I got the model to pose looking slightly at me but also kind of past the camera to give a sort of alluring stare. Also as I mentioned she was not a model for any agency and so I just reminded her every now and again to open her eyes a bit more, pout a little and above all keep a straight back. 😉
I feel I was successful with this hair shoot as her hair looks amazing. I also think Guy did a great job with the colour the day before the shoot. We did also do another two looks with Guy opting to place her hair up in curls which also came out rather nicely.
Styling is also very important in a hair photography shoot and whilst we did not have a hair stylist as such nor a creative director, I kept an eye out for any loose hairs that went wandering so to speak. It’s better to take care of these little strands of hair there on location than have to photoshop them out later.

Should you be in need of the services of a photographer for any hair photography related work please feel free to contact me. My services are professional and my rates reasonable.

R

What’s the matter with you guys? The sight of blonde hair knocks you three rungs down on the evolutionary ladder. – From the television show Civil Wars

Inflation is when you pay fifteen dollars for the ten-dollar haircut you used to get for five dollars when you had hair. – Sam Ewing

I’m not offended by all the dumb-blonde jokes because I know that I’m not dumb. I also know I’m not blonde. – Dolly Parton

Long, beautiful, gleaming, steaming, flaxen, waxen… I adore hair! – James Rado and Gerome Ragni, Hair

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

