Home > photographer > Fashion Hair Styles

Fashion Hair Styles

I did a photographic shoot on Saturday evening at a local hair salon in Cape Town. They wanted me to photograph some different styles that they the hairstylists wanted to showcase in their hair fashion portfolios.

I used two strobes placed at various angles depending on what the hairstylist/creative director had in mind and my Canon 50mm f2.5 macro lens. When Working on a very limited budget it just means having to be that much more creative.

In most cases I used one strobe to light the face and the other to light some part of the hair that the hairdresser wanted to emphasise. I then got the model to pose accordingly. In hair photography you usually have to crop in quite close as the hair is the main focus and the models are never to smile, which I feel kinda sucks but hey, that’s just me. 😉

Hair photography is definitely an artform and there are so many things to consider when shooting this form of photography as time saved on location is timed saved back processing the images afterwards.

Below are some images from the shoot and I hope you find a hairstyle you like. I’m looking forward to my next hair photography assignment as with each shoot I’m learning a little more.

Thanks for stopping by.

Ralph 081 411 5496

And forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair. – Kahlil Gibran

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

